Pair # 3 button quail chick: silver pearl

Would you like some chicks with that salsa?

I wanted to test hatch out some of the eggs from my pairs to make sure all the pairs are fertile and to see what recessive genes each pair carries.  I was trying to figure out how to isolate the eggs from each pair and found that most jars or plastic containers were too tall or too narrow to allow hatching space in the incubator.  For 2-4 eggs I ended up buying (yes buying) salsa jars that were on sale just to put my eggs in. I labeled each jar with a sharpie.

For pair #1 I wanted to see just how old eggs could really be and still hatch so I put like 12 in a couple of shallow plastic bowls. As great as the salsa jars were for this purpose, if too many eggs are in the jar, there was not any space for them to easily hatch or to move around without kicking the other eggs.

Button Quail Pair: slate --a combination of silver and blueface
Button Quail Pair #3: slate –a combination of silver and blueface. Female is slate pearl and male is slate. Origin: Pennsylvania

They hatched 2-12 and 2-13-15 and I did get a few surprises like the baby in the featured photo. His or her parents were pair #3. Pair #3 is a  slate pair (female is slate pearl). What I thought I would get was all slate babies, however, I didn’t realize that it is possible to have single factor slates which is exactly what I have.  What this means is that it is highly likely every chick would be a blue face silver (slate) or a double factor slate, but there is also a small chance that the parents would not pass on their recessive single dose to their offspring. So while time will tell, my best educated guess at the moment is that the featured chick is a silver pearl.

Single factor slate chicks on left and double factor on right. Chick at top is thought to be a silver pearl but time will tell.
Single factor slate chicks on left and the darker  double factor chicks  on right. Chick at top is thought to be a silver pearl but time will tell.

 

Leave a Reply

